Vampire Savior TAS

video previews, releases, and feedback
Dammit

Vampire Savior TAS

Post by Dammit »

Hi, this is my first post.

I have made some TASes for tasvideos and now I want to TAS Vampire Savior. I've never made a combo video, and I'm not an expert at fighting games, so I'll need advice.

Why VS? I like the series. It's got real personality, and it's not excessively popular. I like VS's characters and music more than VH, and I think whatever improvements are in VH2/VS2 aren't enough to outweigh their obscurity. I've seen keyboardmasterTKO's youtube VH vids, so I know more or less what should be possible. (Though some characters were overhauled between VH and VS.)

As you all may know, tasvideos is sort of catatonic about what they allow to be published. The game has to go from beginning to end with no game over or reset interruptions. This means that meter will have to be built up from scratch every round, and I may have to reduce damage or increase lives to prevent the opponent from getting killed too fast. Of course, AI will be set to 8, so any combos that require a cooperative opponent won't work, except for the vs. matches.

As a crazy additional goal (and crazy additional goals are a good thing) I'd like to make it so there are exactly 15 matches, with each match won by a different one of the 15 playables. For this I must use the "shadow" character, who changes to the defeated opponent every match. But the max number of matches in a single game is 9. So a second player will have to challenge and reset the progression.

In order to achieve this I need to figure out which chars I'll get beforehand. I found that the shadow lineup is fixed and depends only on the initial character. So I found the combination of two characters that yields the most variety (14). The last char will have to come from a second vs. battle. See this script for details:
http://lua.pastey.net/127588